How it works

How it works

Addressing the entire system: mind, body and spirit


Ayurveda does not treat symptoms - it targets the root of illness

Since the root of any health issue lies in the loss of balance and harmony between body, mind, soul and senses, the Ayurvedic practitioner works on restoring balance through completely understanding the client’s physical, mental and emotional state. Based on the principles of energy and matter, the healing interventions include herbal formulations, body techniques, nutritional guidelines, and psychological and spiritual interventions drawing on the rich traditions of Yoga. Yogic practices of asanas, pranayama (breathwork) and meditation are an integral part of the holistic healing Ayurveda delivers.


Sustainable solutions for individuals and the planet

The ancient wisdom of Ayurveda provides solutions to common health needs in today's world. It is a comprehensive system for lasting, longterm changes in health through natural methods that are sustainable for the individual and the planet. Not only does Ayurveda support the management of existing illness, it also prevents future illness.



The philosophy - ancient wisdom for today's world

A comprehensive system of energy and matter

Introducing: Sankhya philosophy

The science of Ayurveda is based on the principles of the Sankhya philosophy of evolution and emancipation. It outlines a precise and logical explanation to the presence of energy and matter. Kapila, who propounded the samkhya theory, enumerates the different stages into 24 entities of matter, the 25th entity being that of energy or Self or Consciousness. This is beyond time and space and has no beginning, end or qualities. The Universe is always in a flux of impermanence and change, and this theory offers knowledge, experience and practical solutions to attain freedom from suffering.


All that exists in the universe also exists within us

Here we find our internal and external worlds are made of three fundamental principles that represent awareness, mutability and inertia (or retention). These stand for the three universal qualities, or Gunas known as Sattva, Rajas and Tamas. These are present in everything in the world, in our bodies and in our minds. Matter in the shape of the three Gunas constitutes the material cause of the entire external and internal phenomenal world and they are linked together.


All matter can be broadly classified into two groups as objects and senses. By the reception of senses, objects are known, changed or retained. Firstly, the knowledge of the universe is obtained through the five sense organs. This is when the Sattvic state is predominant. Then the five motor organs are the mutative (rajasic) state that defines all actions. Finally, the objects of sense organs are expressed through the retentive and perceptive state of Tamas.



The five elements and the Doshas

Further diversification of the five objects of sense organs leads to the five gross elements (mahabhutas). All the five elements are gross entities with characteristics of the objects of sense organs. For example, the characteristic feature of space is sound. These elements through various permutations and combinations constitute everything present in the world and in our bodies. These elements are akin to atoms, the minute manifestation of matter.


In the quest for longevity and balance of health, Ayurvedic principles are based on the foundation of the five elements. When these elements come in contact with the senses, they are transformed into the three bio-energies, or Doshas (Vata, Pitta and Kapha). “Dosha” means that which is susceptible to change and vitiation. Ayurveda is the study of science of this process of movement, transformation and retention of energies in all substances in the universe and in the body. These energies being qualitative and functional in nature are the pillars of the human body and can result in good health or disease depending on their functions and qualities. The fundamental principle of Ayurveda is to maintain equilibrium between these three energies for harmonious functioning and homeostasis in the body.